Amalfi Coast

Unesco heritage since 1997

An extraordinary Unesco cultural landscape of 13 coastal municipalities

Proceeding even further south than the UNESCO sites of the historic centre of Naples and the archaeological areas of Pompeii and Herculaneum, there is the beautiful Amalfi Coast, a UNESCO heritage site since 1997, which includes 13 small towns that represent a wonderful example of a Mediterranean landscape.

An incredible stretch of road that runs along the Gulf of Salerno, going from the center of Vietri sul Mare towards Positano, meeting practically all the other municipalities of Amalfi, Strani, Cetara, Conca dei Marini, Furore, Maiori, Minori, Positano, Praiano, Ravello, Scala, Tramonti.

On the Amalfi Coast we find exceptional landscape, cultural and natural values ​​deriving from its very particular topography and historical evolution. Think of the lemon trees, the terraced orchards of Amalfi and Ravello, the first century Roman villas of Minori and Positano, the ceramic artefacts of Vietri sul Mare, the colourful fishing villages, purple bougainvillea, villages, gorges and rocky arches, caves and steep cliffs, turquoise sea, bays and caves that suddenly open up, small villages carved into the rock.

A natural, architectural and anthropological paradise, already a vacation spot for Roman patricians with their sumptuous residences in Positano and Ravello, which over the years has not only convinced UNESCO of its beauty, but also celebrities from all over the world, from Rossellini to Bergman, from Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis to Rudolf Nureyev.

Main points of interest


Positano centre

Villa Rufolo in Ravello

Artistic ceramic factories in Vietri sul Mare


Nearby events

Amalfi Regatta of the ancient maritime republics (June)

Scroll to Top